Mike James and Monaco won’t make Euroleague Final Four after falling short to Olympiacos

Monaco did not manage to make history by winning an away Game 5 (94 – 88), Olympiacos will see the Final Four after coming strong in clutch time.

Like the first four games, this one came down to the wire as both teams went toe-to-toe. Monaco struck first to take the lead in the wake of a red-hot Yakouba Ouattara from beyond the arc (15 points, 5/7 from three). The “Roca Team” was up by 5 at half-time (50-55).

Mike James also rose to the occasion with 24 points, 10 assists, and 4 rebounds but it wasn’t enough to put Olympiacos away. Greek veteran Kostas Sloukas decided to score 13 of his 15 points during the fourth quarter and put Olympiacos in the lead for the first time with 4 minutes remaining. Sloukas drained a clutch three with 2 minutes remaining (89-83). Monaco answered with a tough three by Mike James. Tyler Dorsey answered right back from a distance to nail shut Monaco’s coffin.

“Congratulations to Olympiacos, they deserve to go to the Final Four, and not just because of this game. Because they have a group of people who really invest their time and patience to make this program go to the end. We are in the beginning of building something. I think we’ve started pretty good this season, I think we presented ourselves in an amazing way. We want to learn from this, especially you could see at the end of this game the guys who know how to play this game, like [Kostas] Sloukas. How they used their advantage and win the game. This is the experience we need, and it will help us think about the future. ”

 Sasa Obradovic

Olympiacos took the last ticket to Belgrade Final Four. They will now face Istanbul for a spot in Final on May 19, 4 P.M CET.

Photo: Mike James – Euroleague

Read also... (and these are NOT ads)

1 / 5

Free poster to new subscribers

All 2021-2022 Élite transfers

All 2021-2022 Pro B transfers

Tous les salaires de ProA pour la saison 2017 - 2018
Shop Magazines and Subscriptions


April 2024
All transfers JeepElite for the season 2018 - 2019